Hotel Photos
Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos Hotel Photos
  • Hotel Summary

    Summary Page

  • Rooms & Prices

    Rooms From £102.00

    Book Online Now

  • Customer Reviews

    View Our Customer Reviews

  • Local Attractions

    Local Attractions near Us

Welcome to Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Lake Ullswater, Ullswater, CA10 2LZ

Hotel Description

On the shores of Lake Ullswater, surrounded by the stunning natural beauty of the Lake District, this traditional English country house hotel has an award-winning restaurant. Looking out over the lake to the fells and woodland beyond, Sharrow Bay has a beautiful, peaceful location in 12 acres of gardens and woodlands. Elegant and traditional, all of the rooms are individually decorated with their own unique character and charm. Each room features an en suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi, and a TV. Some rooms have wonderful views of the lake and fells. The hotel was where the term country house hotel' was first coined and where the famous British dish, sticky toffee pudding, was invented. A full English breakfast is available each day.

Our Facilities

  • Disabled Facilities
  • Bar
  • Laundry Service
  • Massage

Rooms & Online Bookings - Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Hotel Reviews - Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Be the first to Write a Review!

Attractions - Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Brougham Castle - Cumbria - Castle

Brougham Castle - Cumbria - Castle

Distance 6.51 miles (10.42 km)
Brougham Castle was built by Robert de Vieuxpont in 1214 on the site of a Roman fort. The great tower largely survives, though later buildings were destroyed by fire in 1521. The keep and service buildings were surrounded by a timber palisade, replaced by Robert Clifford with a stone curtain wall C. 1300. He further strengthened the castle against attacks from the Scots and it was to prove vital during the Anglo-Scottish wars and the Wars of the Roses. Broughams military usefulness diminished after medieval times and there were periods of neglect, when the owners preferred to live elsewhere. It was also once home to Lady Anne Clifford, who inherited it in 1643. Today, the site features an introductory exhibition, including carved stones from the nearby Roman fort.